Anzalone, Johnson appointed to SMH Board of Commissioners

Anzalone, Johnson appointed to SMH Board of Commissioners


(Aug. 28, 2018 – Slidell, LA) – The Slidell Memorial Hospital Board of Commissioners has formally welcomed two new appointments to its membership to serve four-year terms. The appointments were made by the Appointing Authority based on nominating committee recommendations. The Appointing Authority is comprised of representatives of city, parish and state governmental bodies. Louisiana Sen. Sharon Hewitt currently serves as the chairperson of the Appointing Authority.

The new Commissioners are Bruce R. Anzalone, representing Ward 9; and Georgia Johnson, MS, RN, NEA-BC, CPHQ, representing Ward 8.

Anzalone has extensive experience in healthcare operations and management, finance, cost control and customer service improvement initiatives. From 2011 to 2016, he was the Director of the SMH Physicians Network, overseeing the growth and operations of 10 multi-specialty medical clinics. He is a Leadership Northshore 2014 graduate. Anzalone has been involved in leadership of numerous civic organizations, including the East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce, Rotary Club of Slidell, Leadership Northshore and Children’s Museum of St. Tammany. He has also been an active leader in industry groups, including the Louisiana Medical Group Management Association. He is a resident of Slidell.

Johnson is a senior leader in healthcare management with 45 years of experience in the public and private sector in the medical fields of behavioral health and primary care. She has a Master’s Degree in Mental Health Nursing and has an advanced level certification in Nursing Administration. She is also a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality (CPHQ). She is the Director of Quality Support Services at the Primary Care Providers for a Healthy Feliciana/RKM, which is a non-profit operating 10 Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) primary care /school clinics in a five-parish area from West Baton Rouge to Tangipahoa parishes. Johnson is active in professional groups, including serving in leadership positions with organizations including the Louisiana State Nurses Association, Louisiana Nurses Foundation, American Psychiatric Nurses Association, Louisiana Chapter and the State Quality Medicaid Committee. Johnson has been recognized by her professional peers, including being awarded the first LSNA Outstanding Nurse Administrator Award and named one of the inaugural Great 100 Nurses. She is a resident of Slidell.

Anzalone replaced Mack "Ed” Dennis, and Johnson replaced Slidell City Court Judge James "Jim” Lamz; both of their terms ended June 30. 

St. Tammany Parish Hospital Service District No. 2 (dba Slidell Memorial Hospital) is governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners. Seven members are appointed by an appointing authority (comprised of a local legislative delegation) from nominating committee recommendations. The remaining two members are the President of the Medical Staff and one Medical Staff appointee. Each board member brings a unique background of expertise and experience that is invaluable in guiding Slidell Memorial Hospital. The Board of Commissioners is responsible for the quality of the medical care provided at the hospital.



PHOTO identifications

  • Bruce R. Anzalone
  • Georgia Johnson, MS, RN, NEA-BC, CPHQ